Truly Inspiring: Josue’s Story

Hello everyone. My name is Josue Delgado. I am from Sarasota, FL. I have been living here for over 14 years. I moved here from Barroteran, Mexico in 1997 when I was seven years old. And I would like to share my story with you all.

At the age of 14, when I was in the 8th grade, I took an end-of-year field trip with my school to Bush Gardens. When I came back from the trip I started to get these terrible headaches. At first I thought I was going to catch a cold or flu due to going on all the water rides on the park and not drying myself. But several days passed and the headaches didn’t get better which resulted in my having a seizure.

I was taken to Sarasota Memorial Hospital and then transported to All Children’s Hospital in St. Petersburg, FL. There the Doctors there diagnosed me with a brain tumor. I could not believe this was happening. I felt lost; I didn’t know what to do. I had all these emotions come at me all at once. After two months and more than five brain surgeries, I was released from the hospital. The doctors told me that, due to where the tumor was located in my brain, they could only take out 65 percent of it out and I would therefore have to receive radiation therapy to destroy what was left of the tumor.

I had six weeks of radiation treatment done at Bayfront Medical which was located right next to All Children’s Hospital. The treatments worked, but after a year the tumor came back. The news hit me like needles piercing my stomach. The doctor, Dr. Stacey Stapleton, said that she wanted to start me on chemotherapy because radiation therapy was not an option.

Once again I had to go into surgery to have a port placed so I could start the chemo. After going through three different types of chemo, because they didn’t work, Dr. Stapleton had me go through a combination of two different types of chemo at the same time. I prayed to God every day that this chemo would heal me and that it would be my last.

I give thanks to God every day because that was my last chemo and I was cured from this illness. So, after fighting for six years I was cured. Dr. Stapleton ordered for my port to be removed on February 7 2011 – that was one of the happiest moments of my life.

A little bit over a year has passed and I have now graduated from Sarasota High School with honors. I have attended SCTI (Sarasota County Technical Institute) and have obtained an Accounting Operations certificate and Business Supervision Management certificate. I am now 21 years old and hope to continue my studies later on in the future.

I want to first of all give thanks to God for giving me the strength to get through this and also my mom and dad who also were my rock through all of this. I am very thankful for everyone that helped me and my family get through the hard times. Thank you and God Bless!!

About The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children

Founded in 1983, BTFC was the first nonprofit in the U.S. to focus on brain cancer in children. Our mission is to support patients and their families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

