Truly Inspiring: Brooklyn’s Story

Hello, my name is Brooklyn. I am 9 years old. I live in Kentucky. When I was 5 years old I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The big word that my parents and the doctor used was pineoblastoma. I had to have chemo and radiation. After 31 radiation treatments, months of chemo and God’s grace, I have been in remission for 2 years, 10 months and 7 days. I am so thankful to God, my family and everyone who prayed for us and helped us during my sickness.

Even though I can’t do all the things I used to, I am still able to enjoy many activities. I love being outside, riding my go-kart, and swimming! I like to push my baby sister in her stroller and swing with my cousins. I have been blessed to still do all these things, so I don’t focus on all the things I can’t do.

My only wish is that I could help other kids that have cancer. I know the one thing and the most important thing I can do for them is pray. I also want to help the families and friends of kids with cancer. And the last thing I would like to mention is how thankful I am to the University of Kentucky Children’s Hospital and the Kentucky Clinic and all the doctors and nurses and staff that cared for me. They were so kind to me and my family.

In closing, I would like to encourage anyone who is going through an illness and their families to remember that God does comfort and prayer is powerful!

Love and Prayers,

Brooklyn

About The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children

Founded in 1983, BTFC was the first nonprofit in the U.S. to focus on brain cancer in children. Our mission is to support patients and their families.
This entry was posted in Brain Tumor Awareness Month, BT Kids, BT Parents, Foundation News, People, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

