Stories of Inspiration: A Sisters Love

Hi!  I am Noelle!  I am in the fourth grade and am 9 1/2 years old.  I’ll be 10 this year of 2011.  My brother, Nicholas, had his brain tumor discovered in 2008.  He’s the sweetest boy ever.  He is 11 years old now.  In the summer, a lot of times I go to therapy with him.  We sometimes use these things called “T” stools and also little carts that we have to pull ourselves on using just our arms.  On occasion I go to speech therapy with him.  In occupational therapy, we play games and help him relearn to button a coat.  One time, we went on a big square swing and swung around very high.  Sometimes other kids stare or ask what is wrong with Nicholas; I let them know he had a brain tumor.  I also tell them how smart he is, especially at spelling and that he cannot help the way his body works right now.  I tell them Nicholas is working very very hard every day to get his body to work properly.  My mom says his tumor caused a lot of his body functions to go off line.  She said he is trying to get his brain to communicate the right way with his body.  At home, I help to keep him happy and make him laugh, even though he is the happiest person I know!  I read to him, and as my mother says, “Remind him how to be a kid.”  For the last few years, I have done the “playing” for him when he was not able to do it himself.  His tumor took away his ability to do so many things, even playing and speaking.  I help communicate Nicholas’ needs.  I also do things like make up little characters to play with and huge forts that we can hide in!!  He really likes these.  We used to ride the bus together and go to the same school before his tumor took full effect.  I miss not riding the bus with him and not going to the same school with him.  He goes to Suwanee now because they have better medical care.  He is very smart and I wish his tumor had chosen someone else to take the tumor.  He is the Best Big Brother Ever!!  When we go on vacations, I entertain him while we travel.  Our favorite show is Sponge Bob and we like to play with cars.  Nicholas laughs and doesn’t even mind when I entertain him with my dolls.  Nicholas is amazing and his mind is bigger than the Earth, Moon, Jupiter, Sun and the miles it takes to get there.  If I had to choose between Nicholas recovering completely and Disney World, I’d choose him immediately!  Again, I’m Noelle McIntyre and there’s more to my story, but for now I’m just giving you a initial glimpse.  Bye!

About The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children

Founded in 1983, BTFC was the first nonprofit in the U.S. to focus on brain cancer in children. Our mission is to support patients and their families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Stories of Inspiration: A Sisters Love

  1. Sharon O'Prey says:

    Noelle & Nicholas I loved reading about you two! Have a FUN summer!!!!!

  2. To my special niece Noelle,
    You are a wonderful writer and we are proud of you!

    I agree with your whole story but especially this, “Nicholas is amazing and his mind is bigger than the Earth, Moon, Jupiter, Sun and the miles it takes to get there.”

    Nicholas has a great sense of humor and what I like is that he’s funny and kind. We think Sponge Bob is pretty funny too.

    We miss you!
    Aunt Michelle, Uncle Dave and Scotty on the West Coast

  3. Dr. T. Olivero, Sr. says:

    To My Truley Amazing Grandaughter,
    I have never been more proud of my Georgia Peach sweetheart. Your story is very beautiful and touches my heart in all the best places. I love you darling.
    POPPA

  4. C. Gaskins says:

    This is an absolutely beautiful way to share how special Nicholas is to you…..and to many others. Seeing Nicholas from your perspective is very touching. Everything you said about him is true….as I observed it during the short time I worked with him in 2010. Please tell him I said hello, that I still think about him and pray for him, and please tell him that God has great, great plans for him. His smile and kindness can melt any stony heart. He touched my life and the lives of all the children in our classroom. They loved it when Nicholas came through our door, and it was great seeing how they all wanted to help him and begged to be near him. Your mother is quite a person also! Her love for you both, her desire to learn all she can in order to help Nicholas in every way possible, and her work to protect and defend you and Nicholas consume her every waking moment. Kathleen, both Noelle and you inspire us to be better people and more loving! Thank you for sharing this inspirational story, and thank you for sharing Nicholas with us……and especially for sharing him with me last year for a few hours each week!!!

    Love and hugs to you all,
    C. Gaskins

  5. Monica Ricci says:

    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful story! We loved reading it and I’m sure Nicholas is super grateful to have such an incredibly loving, strong, supportive sister!

    Love to all of you,
    Monica and Ed

  6. Liz Coufal Smith says:

    Noelle- I am a friend of your mommy from a long time ago when she used to live in New Jersey. We used to go to school together! High school AND college! Nicholas is very lucky to have such a caring and helpful sister. I’m sure he loves you to the moon and back! Your story is beautiful and I loved reading it. Thank you. Tell mommy I said hello and I’m sending her a great big hug.

  7. George and Nancy Nazary says:

    Hi Noelle,

    We truly enjoyed reading your story. Your brother is very lucky to have a sister like you. You and Nicholas keep having fun together!

    • Noelle McIntyre says:

      That was so nice of you!! I am sooooo happy you enjoyed my story about my life with nicholas!! Lilly is happy as well.

  8. Tina Gay says:

    Wow, Noelle! What a writer you are! So much talent and creativity! I am impressed with the way you described the depths of your love and admiration for your brother. He’s so lucky to have a little sister like you…but you (and you obviously already know this) are very lucky to have a big brother like him! Everyone who reads your story will be blessed beyond measure–your words make a huge impact on your reading audience. What gifts you have! Immense talent and an adorable brother! Keep writing–there is no telling how far you’ll go in life if you do!
    Blessings to you, sweetie!
    Mrs. Gay

  9. Harriet Hankerson says:

    Oh Noelle! How special you are!! In reading your story I feel the love you share with Nicholas and know that you two are very blessed to have each other! Keep loving on Nicholas and I know he loves you. You have just blessed my day with your story and I look forward to reading more.

  10. Kimberly Farkas says:

    Noelle,

    I love your story and hearing about how much you love your brother. You two have a very special bond and God blessed you with each other. You are such a sweet and strong little girl. We miss seeing you, Nicholas, and your family. Keep smiling sweetie!

    Much love and blessings to you all,
    The Farkas Family

  11. Karisa Reichard says:

    Noelle- this was the most beautiful story about you and your sweet brother. I’m not sure if you remember Korryn, you used to be buddies a couple of years ago. We have since moved to Maryland for a short while but we may return to Georgia in a year or so… I know your Mom is very proud of your reaction to all of this turmoil. You are an inspiration. God bless.

  12. Dawn Kenny says:

    Noelle,
    I have been thinking about you and Nicholas a lot since we’ve moved, wondering how you are doing. Thank you so much for your blog, you are quite the talented writer, keep it up. Your family’s strength is inspirational. Nicholas couldn’t be more blessed to have you as his sister.
    Love to you all,
    Mrs. Kenny

Leave a Reply

