Stories of Inspiration: Our Little “Spitfire”

On Halloween night 2007, I took my 20-month-old daughter, Calla, to the ER.  She wasn’t eating, wasn’t drinking, was unsteady on her feet, and had become very lethargic.  I assumed that she needed hydration, and may even be admitted.  I never imagined that I would be told that she had a brain tumor.  As a matter of fact, I had an out-of-body experience in that moment I learned of the “mass on her brain.”  I remember looking down onto the doctor and my own self, clutching a sleeping Calla in my arms.

Surgery to put in a drain for her brain….surgery to attempt to remove the large egg-sized mass….intense, inpatient rehabilitation….aggressive chemotherapy (and all the baggage that goes along with it)….radiation therapy….desparation….broken hearts….too many tears to count…  But on the other hand, prayers from around the world….friends….new understandings of others and ourselves and God….caring souls….new friends….overcoming catastrophes together…

Calla is now 5 years old.  Tumor-free!  Cancer-free!  A little spitfire, she is.  My husband, Brad, and I are thankful for each day with Calla and her 6-year-old brother, Gus.  

“The soul would have no rainbow if the eyes had no tears.” ~Native American proverb

              

About The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children

Founded in 1983, BTFC was the first nonprofit in the U.S. to focus on brain cancer in children. Our mission is to support patients and their families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

