Cookies, Cookies … Every Day!!

This is a guest post by 14 year old Kylie Harris.  She was diagnosed with a craniopharyngioma at the age of 2.  This is part of a series of posts from the most special people of all – the children with brain tumors.  At BTFC we consider the children courageous heroes.  They are the reason we exist.  Their voices are precious and priceless.  If you are a child with a brain tumor, please consider writing a post or poem, or perhaps drawing a picture for the blog. 

Baking is something fun and AWESOME that I enjoy. I bake cookies about every day. Baking started as therapy to help me use my right arm after my surgery and stroke. I worked on mixing, putting ingredients in, measuring them out, and using a spoon to put them on the pan.  It is my responsibility to get all of the ingredients together and to mix it in the bowl.  I make sure if the ingredients aren’t in the cabinet I put them on a grocery list.

Baking is fantastic, exciting, awesome, cool and fun.  I try like one cookie and take the rest to people.  Taking fresh cookies to people makes them feel happy and smile.  I like to take cookies to people all of the time and when they are having a bad day, had surgery, are sick, for birthdays, and for secret surprises.  I make cookies for neighbors, doctors, people at church, everyone at 790 the Zone, and friends. 

I make bars, cookies, and brownies.  My favorite to make are chocolate chip cookies.  People ask me what the recipe is and my answer to that is “It is the recipe on the back of the Nestle Toll House bag.” I make surprise cookies, sugar cookies, butterscotch oatmeal cookies, peanut butter bars, fudge brownies, turtle brownies, snickerdoodles, and oatmeal raisin cookies. My mom has me make sucanat cookies because they are healthy.

I want to be a baker one day.

BTFC is honored that Kylie was highlighted on CBS Atlanta’s morning show, Better Mornings Atlanta last week.  She was interviewed by anchor Tracye Hutchins, who also served as the Honorary Chair of William’s Walk & Run.  Kylie and Tracye led off the walkers in BTFC’s annual event.

About The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children

Founded in 1983, BTFC was the first nonprofit in the U.S. to focus on brain cancer in children. Our mission is to support patients and their families.
This entry was posted in BT Kids, In The News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookies, Cookies … Every Day!!

  1. Gemma Arnot says:

    Iwas 10 years old and i was diagnosed because i had pain full head ackes. i was told that it was a little bump and was it no i thought it would go away and then mummy started to cry and i knew i was something serise i have 3 ops and 2 were the riskets. All people will brain tumors are speacil and what makes us us good luck in the future

Leave a Reply

